Hummingbird Glory

P1040593

The shots in this album came about shortly after I made a decision to submit to Jesus on some very important issues and He took a long-standing addiction out of my life.  It’s strange, or beautiful, that once I wasn’t devoting my eyes to vile things I discovered I had an eye for taking beautiful pictures of nature.  Also, the fact that I didn’t have a smartphone anymore forced me to actually pick up and learn to use a decent digital camera with an optical zoom if I wanted to keep taking photos.  Anyway, the hummingbird photos came about on an overcast summer afternoon.  I was looking out the window at the empty hummingbird feeder on our porch and thought: I should take some pictures of hummingbirds.  The first shot (above) was taken from a distance using max zoom and 12 shots per second.Image

I took a few like that, but they seemed kind of boring.  So I moved closer, as you can see in the above photo.  Still pretty boring.

Image

Then I got the bright idea to lie down so the hummingbirds were backlit by the sun coming through the clouds… And those photos are exciting.  The one above is the first and there are plenty more below.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

I don’t take credit for these.  Every time I look at them I am awed that God made a world that constantly looks like this, whether any human is around to see it or not.  He just privileged me to see these glimpses and catch a few for sharing.

One thought on “Hummingbird Glory

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Things | What Has Jesus Done?

Leave a Reply

