Save the World

I’ll save the world,

but I won’t do the dishes.

*

Why not?

*

It’s demeaning,

and I’m important.

I won’t walk the dogs,

feed the horses,

or mow the lawn,

either.

*

What about look after children?

That’s important enough,

right?

*

I suppose I could start a school,

but I won’t teach classes.

Or a class.

Or a student.

*

What about look after refugees?

There are tons of those right now.

*

That might be worth my time.

Build some camps.

Convince my country to take them in.

But I won’t put up any in my home.

Or house flood victims either.

Or battered women, teenage prostitutes,

or orphans.

*

What about preach the Gospel?

Evangelization is mandatory.

*

Of course!

I plan to write a book,

and sell it to millions.

It will be a masterwork of literature, theology,

and grace.

But I won’t waste my time witnessing to strangers.

Or friends.

Or my family.

*

How about washing feet?

Jesus washed feet.

*

Feet?

It’s not enough.

*

It doesn’t have to be.

*

It’s not enough.

It’s never enough.

*

Jesus also washed you, you know.

*

*

*

Hmmm.

I suppose I could wash the dishes.

But maybe not feet.

And I won’t save the world.

*****
(The original version of the first two lines, attributed to P.J. O’Rourke, goes, “Everyone wants to save the world, but nobody wants to do the dishes.”)

Leave a Reply

