The Unbroken Blade #16.5

“I have heard reports that Neralene agents have been engaging in sexual immorality with darrs and other officials. Worse, I have heard that they did this to gain leverage over those officials. I can hardly credit it, but my sources are such that I must investigate. Whether or not it has been true, I trust that when I search, I will find that it no longer is.

-High Keva Baro TarLannet, in a letter to High Daughter Kerlain NarChega, 1837 YL.

“Your pursuit of wickedness throughout the Empire is truly laudable and such an inspiring example I may have to copy it myself. Unfortunately, the first report on my list involves a high official within the Council of Kevas engaging in just the kind of activities you speak of with one of our Daughters of Charity. The pictures are very shocking. I am certain you will give the Daughters of Justice your full support in rooting out this evil.”

-High Daughter Kerlain NarChega, in a letter responding to High Keva Baro TarLannet, 1837 YL. High Keva Baro TarLannet committed suicide six months later.


Continue to Chapter #17 >>>

<<< Go back to Chapter #16

Start reading at Chapter #0


This chapter is part of the in-progress serial web novel The Unbroken Blade, intended to be book one in The Shattered Empire trilogy, and features a mix of sci-fi and thematic elements reminiscent of near-future military fiction such as Gasaraki or Isaac Hooke’s Atlas series and sci-fi combat classics such as Mechwarrior/Battletech and Gundam. The story is rich with battle and conflicts of honor and conscience arising around a civil war on the forested world of Dankar, far from our own, but is primarily focused on how the main characters deal with the challenges they face, not their machines or their world. Follow this blog to receive each chapter as soon as it is released. Like and share to give me a shot of encouragement. Full chapter updates on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.

3 thoughts on “The Unbroken Blade #16.5

  1. Pingback: The Unbroken Blade #17 – WHJD

  2. Pingback: The Unbroken Blade #17 (Zem) – WHJD

  3. Pingback: The Unbroken Blade #16 (Orlin) – WHJD

Leave a Reply

